Awarded to date

Hot Claims Chip Lead on Day 1c of 2019 MSPT Wisconsin State Poker Championship

Igor Hot

The third and final flight of the 2019 MSPT Wisconsin State Poker Championship saw 307 entries come out and it took less than a full 15 levels for that number to reach 36, the rounded-down figure of 12 percent of field that required a hard stop on play for the night. When that number was reached, 2:51 still remained on the clock for Level 14 (1,500/3,000/3,000).

Despite the abbreviated evening, Igor Hot had no trouble bagging a stack just shy of Day 1a chip leader Paul Camby (465,000). Hot finished the day with 452,000 after riding a heater through the last three hours of the night that saw him pick up chips in chunks, winning a massive pot with a river raise that earned an immediate fold from his opponent to put an exclamation mark on his ascent about 10 minutes before play concluded.

Rounding out the top five for the day were Miroslav Semanisin (440,500), Bryant Miller (364,500), Wai Ngai (306,000), and Luke Goodwillie (301,500). They were the only players to finish above 300,000 for the day.

Others to make it through the day included Jill Bryant (268,000), Ralph Massey (184,000), Phil Mader (170,000), Aaron Johnson (157,000), and Saad Ghanem (85,500).

Players such as Nghia Le, Cody Brinn, Aaron Massey, Johanssy Joseph, and Ahmed Taleb were among those who did not make it through the day.

In total, the tournament drew 660 entries over the three starting flights. Seventy-eight of those players will come back for Day 2, which will begin Sunday at 11 a.m. local time. It will mark the first time all weekend where the entire field will play under one roof, with play set to reach the money when the field reaches 72. Play will continue until a winner has been determined and the final table will be live streamed on a 15-minute delay on the MSPT website.

PokerNews will be providing updates from the time cards go in the air until the time the trophy is hoisted. Come back and find out who will be the next MSPT champion.

Igor Hot Brookfield, WI 452,000
Miroslav Semanisin Baraboo, WI 440,500
Bryant Miller West Unity, OH 364,500
Wai Ngai Brooklyn, NY 306,000
Luke Goodwillie Highland Park, IL 301,500
Jill Bryant Aurora, IL 268,000
Gheorghe Gradinaru Chicago, IL 265,000
Ravi Raghavan Northbrook, IL 256,500
Albert Nguyen Milwaukee, WI 233,500
Alin Cotolan Chicago, IL 217,000
Gerald Heath Naperville, IL 196,000
Joel Casper Elmhurst, IL 195,000
Ralph Massey Chicago, IL 184,000
Daniel Buckley Eden Prairie, MN 183,500
Hassan Tahsildar Green Bay, WI 180,000
Phil Mader Grand Island, NE 170,000
Paul Elfelt Brookfield, WI 169,000
Michael Berk Chesterton, IN 163,500
Aaron Johnson Red Wing, MN 157,000
Steven Federspiel Riverside, IA 154,500
Benjamin Wiora Wisconsin Dells, WI 148,500
Joseph Benkendorf Burlington, WI 144,000
Steven Belland Bagley, MN 139,000
Jacob Rich Plymouth, WI 106,000
Jonathan Kim Minneapolis, MN 100,000
Richard Stevens Shakopee, MN 94,000
Saad Ghanem Burnsville, MN 85,500
Matthew Levin Milwaukee, WI 75,500
Abraham Beddaoui Glenview, IL 71,500
Brett Reichard Janesville, WI 66,500
Patrick Mayew Pleasant Prairie, WI 59,500
Tomasz Luberda Willow Springs, IL 54,000
William Koenig Madison, WI 52,500
Benjamin Rock Marshfield, WI 50,000
Kyle Adams Chicago, IL 48,500
Ryne Johnson Menasha, WI 41,500